We’ve been traveling this last week to Ms. Coco’s home state. I’ve been trying to keep my budget system going from last month while traveling, I’ve had mixed results.

Ms. Coco asked me to help her with a class on personal finances for adults. I’ve been thinking about what are the most important aspects of getting your finances in order. I’ve come up with three things.

1. Goals/Standards

So what are goals and standards? Goals help me define what I want. Standards for me are how I choose to live my life.

I didn’t think much about my standards until Ms. Coco’s uncle gave a very good speech recently at a ceremony where he was being honored. When asked why his track team has done so well winning titles for the last 20 years he said,

“Our kids succeed because we set high standards for them and hold them accountable” 

In the age of everyone gets a trophy and everything is special, where are the high standards? 

In the books I’ve read about success in business, sports, and life. The truely great set high standards for themselves and the people around them. This could be why like attracts like. People with high standards attract other with high standards. This helps bring up everyone’s performance. 

One of my favorite quotes is “A rising tide lifts all boats”. 

How does one be the rising tide? Could it be having higher standards for yourself and those you choose to spend your time with?

2. Systems

Are the steps you put in place to reach your goals. This saves time and makes decision making easier.

Last month I created an budget and system to help control my spending. It has been working pretty well but I’m sure it will need to adjust over time.

I’m trying to find a new system for fitness. I’ve been toying with some new apps and training systems but I need to find something that works wel for me.

Systems are great it gives you model to live by but you also need to know that it’s working for you.

3. Evaluation and Analysis 

Recently I’ve been taking a lot more notes. I’ve always enjoyed writing but my notes are to track different aspects of my life that I feel need improvement.

The data gives me information I can then look at over time to develop a picture of what works and what doesn’t. 

I’ve learned recently that increasing my weight training by more that 5lbs on any exercise can lead me to be sore or possible injured after my workout. So now I limit my increases in weight to no more than 5lbs on any workout. 

I wouldn’t have known this if I had not been tracking my workouts and the weight I’ve been lifting.

Monthly challenge. This month is all about acts of service and extreme couponing. I’m helping Ms. Coco with this personal finance class, I always try to open her door and carry her bags, and I cook us dinner every Sunday night. So I feel like I’ve got a decent handle on the acts of service. 

Extreme couponing is not going well. I have only one coupon that I’m planning on using at the moment. Hopefully I can pick it up in the second half of the month. If you have any tips please let me know in the comments! Where can I get some good deals?

Leave a Reply

