Listening is hard! Why would I want to listen to other people when I have so much to say?

I’m working on being more empathetic. It’s hard enough to understand my own emotions, let alone those of others.

Women have an advantage in this department. Ms. Coco is always talking about her feelings. I’m usually just trying to listen and not respond with something stupid or rude.

This is why she sometimes tells me “your not listening” or “why aren’t you listening to me?” I do hear the words coming out of her mouth. I just don’t always understand the underlying emotions that go along with the words.

So you might ask, what does this have to do with our monthly changes… nothing really. It’s just something I try to remind myself of sometimes.

So to recap the March changes.

Lent (give up alcohol and sugar) –  This went relatively well. I did end up drinking one beer and one shot during a basketball game with friends. The sugar thing, well the first week was a disaster! I have had much less sugar in my diet since then, but as I have found out, sugar is in everything!

Saving – This is where I exceeded my wildest expectations. I set a weekly budget.  I stayed under budget each week, and I ended up saving 20-30% of my budget each week. I did this by making cash only purchases. I had a envelopes system for my Food, Entertainment, and of course the Ms. Coco fund (which went mostly to ice from sonic, sour cream and cheddar chips, and Jones Blue Lemonade soda)!

This cash envelope system worked out really well. I did not feel restricted in what I could buy. Except for my daily coffee, that is going back into my budget. Grocery store sales and coupons helped a lot, in keeping me way under budget. Not drinking or buying junk food also contributed to keeping me well within budget.

So what am I doing with all my extra money? Well, I’m blowing it on a trip to….Cuba! Where I will hopefully be writing some posts and possibly doing a Podcast???

Leave a Reply

