March is here and you would think it’s the time for warmer weather. However, currently we are facing a cold storm as I type. If I was still teaching high school I would probably be praying for a two-hour delay…not a complete school closing. This way I’d still have my morning to myself and we wouldn’t have to make the day up. Instead of this prayer, today I find myself praying for my sisters (who are teachers in the county where I used to teach) and their students. The school district must face the issue of young people committing suicide in recent days. It makes me so sad to know exactly what the teachers are going through and to not be able to help them. I pray for my students (all of them known and unknown), my colleagues, the families, and the leaders of our community.

While thinking of the people I know who committed suicide I always wonder if I listen well enough. If I remember enough of the conversations I have with others so they know that I am invested in what they are saying. This is something that deeply impacts me because I know what it feels like to be ignored when talking of things that are important to me; that people don’t care enough to remember what I am discussing. I make it a point to try my best to recall the simplest of details because I want to make it clear that I am there in that space and moment. My boo thang says that it may not be a good idea to remember every detail. We are clearly on opposites sides of the field here. And not even on the opposite side of the field…I just want people to know what I’m talking about today if we had a related conversation on Saturday. I think he unconsciously thinks people won’t remember details and this is why he repeats so many to me…but like the Isley Brothers’ song Voyage to Atlantis says…I’ll always come back to you (The Gentleman Farmer). Even when I cannot remember the day-to-day details of our lives.

I think this also references my spending habits. I had a habit of buying clothes often. Not because I needed them but because I could. I grew up not being able to find clothing that fit me well. When I found the wonderful world of New York & Company (I was 20 I believe) it was instant chemistry between the store and myself. I loved their business attire that was somewhat fashionable. I especially LOVED their pants and jeans. For the first time in my entire life I found pants that fit me without altering. If you looked in my closet months ago I may have had 50 pair of dress pants. Even in the recent years their clothing has become even more my style and I have continued to buy excessively (I have 50+ dresses). I made a point to know when the sales were, how long they would occur, and what I wanted the most. I couldn’t miss it even if I tried. However, as the Gentleman Farmer and I have gotten to know each other so well he has rubbed off on me…which means my spending on things that aren’t a necessity has diminished greatly. I am focused on saving money for my retirement. I saw an article from CNBC  that stated a 30-year-old should have your yearly salary saved in retirement. I am far below that. So, I have focused on increasing my contribution to my accounts for this purpose.

Lent hasn’t been much of an issue, although I probably should have picked something more challenging. Something like soda (Jones’ Blue Lemonade is my ISH), potato chips (Ruffles Sour Cream and Cheddar) or something like that. I chose candy. I love candy but I don’t have to have it. Sonic is another situation. Maybe next year…haha.

 

Leave a Reply

