This past week the Gentleman Farmer and I went to Destin, Florida by way of Nashville, Tennessee and Birmingham, Alabama. This is the first time that I have been to either place and they were both sights to see. I have a cousin who lives in Nashville and we had dinner with him that night. When you go to Music City you must hit up the bars that showcase up-and-coming country artists, as well as a tour of the Grand Ole Opry. Maybe we saw the next big country star that night! We also visited the Civil Rights Institute in Birmingham. I am a person who loves to learn about different things wherever I go. And I LOVED this museum. It was attention-grabbing, visually appealing, and informative. If you have the chance to visit this museum, or other Civil Rights Museums around the country, please do! Pay attention to the February 1, 1960 exhibit. The four men who started the sit-in movements in Greensboro, NC attended MY Alma Mater, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University! Aggie Pride!

As you can imagine, vacations are not the easiest times to maintain a healthy diet. I don’t know how the Gentleman Farmer thinks we did, but I think we did okay. There is always room for improvement but I focus on portion control. The food was delicious being in the gulf with access to fresh seafood! The Gentleman Farmer also cooks a lot so we had breakfast at the condo on most days. (I love him for his love of cooking!) We also had plenty of snacks to keep us fulfilled. However, if you want to know where to eat in Destin, The Craft Bar is DELICIOUS!

We also planned on running a 5K in Destin. We ran on the beach for part of the week and rested to do well for the race. I hoped to do well this race because the last one a 70+ year old beat my time! 70+ YEARS OLD! What am I doing wrong with my life?! So, I have been running/walking/working out for the past month to do better. And you know what happened? Shin splints! The Gentleman Farmer had awful shin splints and we walked the race; I told him it was from us running on the beach barefoot. I couldn’t leave my homie, lover, friend. (Plus, he gave me an excuse to walk when I could no longer run.) He was super disappointed, and I was disappointed for him. But it was a hit or a miss with me. My motivations are different than his. Ha!

Anyway, all in all this challenge was a 5 on a 10-point scale for me. We could have done much better. However, I am okay with my results. I increased my consumption of food at home, have worked out more in the last month than the last three combined, and am focusing on my spiritual well-being. February brings new challenges! I am going to attempt to teach the Gentleman Farmer how to sew (my favorite pastime that I don’t have time for) and he is going to teach me how to snowboard (pray for me, please.) Plus, Valentine’s Day, my birthday, and our anniversary is this month! Much fun will be had in the month of February!

Leave a Reply

